- Dashboard
- How-to guides
- Create, configure, and delete a project
Create, configure, and delete a project
Last updated
You create a project from the Dashboard screen or from a workspace screen. You change and delete it afterwards under Settings for that project.
The Owner, Admins, and Writers can create a project, and the Owner and Admins can delete one. Changing General in Settings is limited to the Owner and Admins for a CMS project, and to the Owner, Admins, and Writers for a Visualizer project. While the number of assigned seats exceeds the contracted number of seats, no one can create, change, or delete a project.
Create a project
Section titled “Create a project”Add one project to a workspace. New project on each product tab of a workspace opens the screen for creating a project.
- On Dashboard, click New Project.
- Choose the type of project to create.
- Choose a Workspace. Only workspaces where you hold a role that can create projects are listed. When you open the screen from a workspace tab, that workspace is already selected.
- Enter a Project alias. You cannot enter it until you choose a workspace.
- Enter a Project name.
- Under Project Visibility, choose Public or Private. You can choose Private only for a workspace on a paid plan.
- Enter an About. This field is optional.
- Under Choose a license, choose a license template. This is optional. To set it later, see Set a project license.
- Enter text in Topics and press Enter to add it. This is optional.
- Click Create project.
Once created, Project created successfully! appears and the Overview tab of the project you created opens.
Change the name, alias, About, and topics
Section titled “Change the name, alias, About, and topics”The fields under General are saved together in one click.
- Open Settings for the project. General opens.
- Enter the fields you want to change. You can change Project alias, Project name, and About.
- To add a topic under Topics, enter text and press Enter.
- Click Update.
Once saved, Project settings updated successfully appears. If you changed the alias, the screen switches to the URL with the new alias.
To change the visibility, see Change project visibility.
Delete a project
Section titled “Delete a project”Delete a project you no longer need.
- Open Danger Zone in Settings for the project.
- Click Delete this project. The confirmation screen opens.
- On the confirmation screen, click Delete. You are not asked to type anything.
Once deleted, Project deleted successfully appears and the workspace screen opens.